The 25 European reference regions in SALSA

Jul 26, 2017

25 European reference regions have now been selected for the empirical analyses in SALSA. In the process, the results of the European small farms mapping and cluster analysis were combined with the EDORA structural types. The combination of both data sets was to ensure that the selected reference regions covered the diversity of small farm situations across Europe.

The map shows the 25 European reference regions that were eventually selected. The additional five reference regions in Africa were selected solely based on a consultation with the particular partners. The aim was again to cover a spectrum of small farm situations. For more detailed information see the report on selection of the 25 European reference regions in SALSA.